CONCORD, N.H. — The Second Annual New Hampshire Legislative Softball Classic is scheduled for Flag Day, Thursday, June 14th, at 6 p.m. at the Anheuser-Busch Athletic Complex in Merrimack, N.H. The event, sponsored by the N.H. Legislature’s Veterans’ Caucus (VIC) will  once again generate funds for Manchester’s Liberty House which supports homeless and transitioning veterans.

In part inspired by the shooting violence associated with the 2017 Congressional Baseball Game, the 2017 Legislative Softball Classic saw the Republicans top their Democrat rivals by a score of 15-5 while generating more than $10,000 for Liberty House. “The first Classic was such a wonderful success that we had to keep it going,” explained VIC leader Sean Morrison (R-Epping).

Sports banter has already commenced between the rival camps ahead of the 2018 Classic. “I just made a substantial pledge to Liberty House,” explained House Majority Leader Dick Hinch (R-Merrimack), the manager for the Republican team. “But I’ll double my donation if somehow the Democrats get lucky and pull off a win.” Democrat manager, House Minority Leader Steve Shurtleff (D-Penacook) sees things differently. “Democrats mean business in 2018,” explained Shurtleff. “Our win in the Classic in June will show that 2018 is going to be a blue year in New Hampshire and across the country!”

The two teams will be vying for the “Antler Trophy” won by the GOP last year that now has a name. The “Murphy-Brown Trophy” honors two Granite State political stalwarts.

Republican Francis P. Murphy was elected as the sixty-fourth governor of New Hampshire in 1936. A former lieutenant in the New Hampshire National Guard,  Murphy chaired the Electric Power Supply Committee during World War I and also served in the New Hampshire House of  Representatives as well as the Executive Council. In 1954, Governor Murphy started WMUR-TV in Manchester.

Democrat Fred Brown was elected as the fifty-ninth N.H governor in 1922 and then to the U.S. Senate in 1932. A talented baseball player, he saw action with the National League’s Boston Beaneaters (later the Braves) in 1901 and 1902.

More information about the Legislative Softball Classic and the Murphy-Brown Trophy may be obtained by contacting Rep. Michael Moffett (R-Loudon) at